Exclude host from DHCP needed

Hi all

I run PiHole in a Debian Buster container; everything works well.
Now I need to exclude 1 host (tv decoder) from the DHCP range otherwise it's not able to connect to the tv service from the provider.
Somehow it gets an address from the modem - that's the way it should be - although DHCP disabled there.

I tried to exclude the MAC address in "/etc/dnsmasq.d/10-local.conf" with

dhcp-host=aa:bb:cc:dd:ee:ff,ignore

which I found by chance while searching for hours but to no avail.
I guess this is because dnsmasq has been replaced but that's just a guess since I'm no linux expert at all.

Any idea how to solve this since this is a real PITA because the decoder keeps losing it's connection every few minutes, over and over again...

Thanks in advance!

dnsmasq has not been replaced. Since Pi-hole V4, it no longer runs as a separate process - the code is embedded in pihole-FTL. All existing dnsmasq configuration files will still work.

That doesn't seem to be the way it should be. If DHCP is disabled on the modem, and DHCP is enabled on the Pi-hole, the only DHCP server on your network should be Pi-hole and no other device should be providing IPs or DNS assignments.

Hi jfb

Thanks for picking this up!

Ok, so it's because dnsmasq is embedded in pihole-FTL that I couldn't a dnsmasq command that I found somewhere but cannot find it anymore right now...

The tv decoder is locked down so no possibility to change any settings.
Before it has worked this way by entering it's MAC address in that file but somehow - I guess because of some updates on Pi-Hole - this problem has rised again.

I also have no details on how it's done that the decoder has worked before without the DHCP scope on the modem activated.
Could it be because of VLAN's?

Any other suggestions?