Source address in docker shows as bridge gateway from other subnets

Pihole is showing the source address as being the docker network which Pihole is running for any DNS queries from other subnets.

I have Pihole in a custom bridge network (10.1.53.0/24), with ports (53) published to 192.168.1.50. Any client queries from the 192.168.1.0/24 are recorded with the proper IP address.

However any from 192.168.3.0/24 (another VLAN) are recorded as being from 10.1.53.1 as are any queries from any other docker containers on the same host. (10 and 172 range addresses).

So the stats page is showing 90%+ of queries coming from 10.1.53.1.

I'm sure this is down to host configuration - iptables masquade rules or some such - I'm no iptables expert though.

Anyone else seen this and any ideas how to resolve so that pihole records the client addresses?

Cheers

Seems something is NATing your requests. Since this involves replacing the source IP of a packet with its own, I'd start looking at the device or software at 10.1.53.1 - don't know if that's Docker or your (VLAN) router..

This is a network configuraton issue rather than Pi-hole, so you may also consider consulting additonal sources, e.g. Docker's network documentation for maximum feedback.

Thanks for taking the time to respond

Aye, 10.1.53.1 is the docker gateway I define in the docker-compose.yml for the pihole container

networks:
default:
driver: bridge
enable_ipv6: true
ipam:
config:
- subnet: 10.1.53.0/24
gateway: 10.1.53.1
- subnet: ${IPV6PREFIX_GUA48}:d153::/64
gateway: ${IPV6PREFIX_GUA48}:d153::1

I've read through the Docker networking documentation but not been able to peel back the layers to what actually gets defined on the hosting server or how to untangle the NATing

Seems your are using Docker's default bridge network, which is doing NAT by default.