Share wildcard blacklists

Hello,

This is my first week of using pi-hole, so bear with me if I am asking for something that can already be accomplished :slight_smile:

Mind you, I love the public blacklists tat can be added but they are all in /etc/hosts format. A quick glance of the (very nice) dashboard shows that this is not sufficient.
For example the TLD of some bitcoin mining programs are blocked, while “randomly named” sub domains are still left unblocked (ws37a.work.miner... etc).

So now I keep an eye out to these kind of entries in the querie log (where the TLD is blocked, but suspicious domains still resolve through a sub domain - of which an infinite amount can exist per given domain).

What I would like is a way to share one’s wildcard blacklist and import other people’s wildcard blacklist. Exactly like it now works with /etc/hosts formatted lists.

Again, I am new to this game, and it might involve a lot of politics as other adblockers probably need to jump on the train as welll. Just putting this wish up for discussion.

Edit: if I owned a miner or adfarm (which I do not) I would use a wildcard DNS record for my clients to bypass this type of blocking. Community wildcard blocking would help IMHO.

1 Like

This is possible, but so far we have not implemented it as a feature (might be a way to get involved though, if you know how to code :wink:)

Hmm, I just might do that :slight_smile:.

But first, let’s think about the “distributable wildcards lists” themselves.
How will they be generated? How to categorize them (is that necessary)?
@WaLLy3K, you seem to collect these lists, how did they came to be? Any tips/requirements on how wildcard list should be organized?