Pihole does not report the actual traffic

Pihole shows me that there is no webtraffic over more than 2 hours where there definitely was because I was working on my pc. This has been going on for several weeks now. Any ideas?

OSX, Brave Browser, * Pi-hole [v5.8.1]

regular updates

Pi-hole will show only the queries that it sees. If the PC is using a different DNS server, the queries from that client will not be seen or recorded by Pi-hole.

Brave browser may be using a separate DNS.

1 Like

there are no changes in the setup. the pi is hooked into my fritzbox. there are no new devices in the network. I've been using this setup for 5 years now. all of a sudden it seems that pi does not see the entire traffic anymore

Let's figure out why.

Are there any significant sudden changes in traffic shown on your dashboard?

From a client that you believe should be connected to the Pi-Hole for DNS, from the command prompt or terminal on that client (and not via ssh or Putty to the Pi), what is the output of

nslookup pi.hole

this is the output of nslookup
pi@raspberrypi:~ $ nslookup pi.hole
Server: 8.8.8.8
Address: 8.8.8.8#53

** server can't find pi.hole: NXDOMAIN

Run this command from a client where you are not seeing queries in Pi-hole, not from the Pi itself. Unless the Pi is the device in question.

the reply from a device within the network is:

Server: 1xx.xxx.xxx.xxx (I x'ed out the true IP)
Address: 1xx.xxx.xxx.x#xx

Non-authoritative answer:
*** Can't find pi.hole: No answer

I assume this device isn't using Pi-hole for DNS either. Hard to verify without the IP.

Please upload a debug log and post just the token URL that is generated after the log is uploaded by running the following command from the Pi-hole host terminal:

pihole -d

or do it through the Web interface:

Tools > Generate Debug Log

thank you jfb for helping. me with this. sharing token url in pm with you