Pi-hole with OpenWRT not resolving CNAME subdomains

Details

I'm a networking newbie and I'm trying to set up a home server so I can run various applications including applications in docker containers. I've been trying to use subdomain names in CNAME entries on pihole, but I can't get them to resolve to the home server.

I've been poring over openwrt and pihole docs, forums, and guides trying to find a solution to this, but I haven't been able to crack it so I'm looking for help.

My setup includes:

• Router: Netgear R6220
    • Running OpenWRT configured with pihole as the DNS server from the instructions (method 2).
    • IP: 10.0.0.1
  • PiHole: Pi Zero W
    • IP: 10.0.0.2
    • CNAME entry mapping api.iron.lan to iron.lan
  • Home Server: ASUS PN51
    • named iron.lan
    • no static ip
  • Docker Containers running on iron.lan:
    • envoy front proxy routing api.iron.lan to a container running a fastapi server
    • fastapi server

Expected Behaviour:

• Subdomains should resolve to the home server.
  • An HTTP request from any machine on my lan to api.iron.lan should make it to the docker container running a fastapi server

Actual Behaviour:

• Domains that map to actual machines on my lan resolve correctly (e.g. iron.lan, pihole.lan)
  • Subdomains mapped in CNAME to an actual machine do not resolve in browser or nslookup unless explicitly pointed to pihole as the DNS
  • When originating from the home server, I can make HTTP requests to "api.iron.lan" without issue.

From WSL on my laptop

pdoran@sodium:~$ nslookup iron.lan
Server:         172.22.208.1
Address:        172.22.208.1#53

Non-authoritative answer:
Name:   iron.lan
Address: 10.0.0.203
Address: fd12:193c:86bb::cfe

pdoran@sodium:~$ nslookup api.iron.lan

** server can't find api.iron.lan: NXDOMAIN

pdoran@sodium:~$ nslookup api.iron.lan 10.0.0.2
Server:         10.0.0.2
Address:        10.0.0.2#53

api.iron.lan    canonical name = iron.lan.

From the home server iron.lan