DNS Lookup Fails When DNS Server is in Local LAN Netgear Genie WNDR3700v4

Introduction:

I am a PiHole newbie and am doing my best to provide accurate data. I may make silly mistakes, please bear with me when I go astray.

Expected Behaviour:

My NetGear WNDR3700V4 router runs Genie firmware version V1.0.2.102.

As I understand it, the router always gives its address to clients as the DNS Server. I do not think I can change this part of the DHCP Server behavior. Clients send DNS requests to the router which then forwards the requests to the address configured in the router as .

This should look like:

Any Local Client --> NetGearRouter --> <DNS Server>

Actual Behaviour:

Under typical non-PiHole use cases like:

If ( == DNS from the ISP)
OR
( == A publicly available DNS, e.g. google: 8.8.8.8)
{
DNS resolution works properly and client receives the correct address.
}

To use PiHole, I believe I have correctly configured the router to send those DNS requests to the PiHole DNS Server on my local LAN (192.168..).

This route should be:

Any Local Client --> NetGearRouter --> <DNS Server>

However,
If ( == PiHole on the local LAN)
{
DNS resolution fails and client reports unable to resolve address.
}

ADDITIONAL TEST:
If I manually set the DNS server address on any client to refer directly to the PiHole using a command like this:
netsh interface ip set dns name="myWifi" source=static

to make the DNS resolution path:
Any Client --> PiHole

DNS resolution works fine.

Commentary:

I have read that at least some of the NetGear routers implement a protection against DNS rebind attacks which prevents them from routing DNS requests to any address on the local LAN. This seems to fit the behavior I observe and it is my working hypothesis that the router is refusing to route DNS requests to the PiHole.

I have looked for any way to disable this behavior unsuccessfully.