Unbound or stubby

I resently saw there are basically three setups people use

1. unbound
  2. stubby
  3. unbound and then stubby behind it

I kind of understood that with just unbound you do not need to connect to for example googles server in between,
and with stubby you need to, but therefore you could use encryption on it. But whats the advantage of using unbound and stubby behind it? (I am kind of new to the DNS stuff, so probably I miss something pretty obvious here :wink: )

The basic differences:

1. Stubby is "an application that acts as a local DNS Privacy stub resolver (using DNS-over-TLS). Stubby encrypts DNS queries sent from a client machine (desktop or laptop) to a DNS Privacy resolver increasing end user privacy." Stubby is basically an encryption stub that encrypts the DNS traffic between you and an upstream resolver.

2. Unbound is "a caching DNS resolver." It directly communicates with the authoritative name servers and does the resolving itself, avoiding the need for a upstream resolver. It has very efficient caching and is generally quite fast.

In my opinion, there is no advantage. By itself, unbound has the advantage that you don't have to trust any upstream DNS service with your entire DNS history. It runs locally, it is secure and fast. It uses DNSSEC to validate that the answer from the authoritative servers is not altered in transit. The setup per the guide here (Redirecting...), which also nicely explains how unbound works, takes maybe 15 minutes.