[Solved] Cannot set router DNS to local pi-hole

Details about my system: I'm using a dedicated, headless RPI B3+ with an ethernet connection to the router (a TP-LINK AC750).

The issue I am facing: I'm new to Pi-hole, and this is my first effort at setting it up. I cannot seem to point my router's DNS Server to my RPI where Pi-hole is installed. When I attempt to, I get this message:

Error code: 5917

Error Unknown!

I've played with multiple DNS settings, and I'm guessing the router wants an external IP for DNS resolution. But my RPI is local, lol. Any ideas what I can try? I really don't want to get into using DDNS (like no-ip), but I can't think of any other solutions.

What I have changed since installing Pi-hole: After experiencing this problem, I upgraded the router firmware just in case it was a known bug. No joy.

I found this article that might help. It seems the obvious DNS settings are for the wan and the one you need for pihole would be under DHCP?

AFAIAAO, some TP-Link routers do not allow to use private IP addresses as an upstream resolver.

Having your clients talk to your Pi-hole directly would be the preferred configuration anyway, i.e you should configure your TP-Link to distribute your Pi-hole machine's IPv4 via as local DNS resolver via DHCP instead of its own, see e.g. Can't setup network-wide DNS because of router - #8 by Bucking_Horn.

Wow, fast replies!!

CallMeCurious, thanks but I tried that already. Ironic that their own directions don't work - at least for me. :upside_down_face:

Bucking_Horn, thanks for that link! I promise I did make thorough use of the search options before posting, and didn't find that one. I'll go through this and post an update when I have one. (Won't be right away - with little kids, I rarely have opportunity to sit down at my computer these days.)

(Sorry - new user here. I can't @ mention anyone yet.)

1 Like