Recursive DNS server (unbound) or DNS over HTTPS?

Hi,

I am fairly new to using a Raspi but managed to get pi-hole up and running and I love it.

I read the guides about "Pi-hole as All-Around DNS Solution" and "Configuring DNS-Over-HTTPS on Pi-hole"
https://docs.pi-hole.net/guides/unbound/

I don't know which one you guys would recommend? Does any of those solutions prevent my ISP from collecting DNS data and generating a profile?

DNS over HTTPS will encrypt your DNS traffic to/from the third party DNS server, so this will hide your DNS data from your ISP.

unbound is a local recursive resolver that (if set up per the guide you reference), will send DNS requests in the clear. They are authenticated, but not encrypted, and will be visible to your ISP. There are certain things you can do (qname minimisation, for example) to improve your privacy a bit.

Note that even if your DNS requests are not visible to your ISP, you will be immediately following the DNS request with the IP you have requested. Your ISP can analyze those requests.

Having tried both options, I prefer unbound. Having a local resolver that I have full control over is preferable to trusting a third party DNS provider (Cloudflare in this case). Upstream providers see all your DNS traffic, and you have no control over what they do or will do with that data.

1 Like

I was under the impression that unbound would generate it's traffic in the LAN, thus the ISP wouldn't see the content of the traffic, only that you were connecting to the dns root zone. Now that I've been corrected, is there a way to run unbound with cloudflared at the same time effectively?

What would be the goal doing that?

Then will host unbound in the cloud and use https or dnscrypt a good solution?

The goal would be have the advantages of unbound with the privacy of dns over tls

The advantage of using unbound (per the setup guide) is that unbound becomes your recursive resolver, and you aren't using a third party DNS provider.