New to pi-hole. Whitelist issue

Hi good morning all, I'm new to pi-hole, just updated my adlist and currently have over 5 million blocked domains. All seems great till a site my wife and I shop on from time to time, qvcuk.com, now does not display any photos's of anything they are selling, just the descriptions. Tried adding www.qvcuk.com with the wilcard option ticked to the whitelist and updated gravity but nothing has changed. Am I doing this wrong ?

Thanks in advance

Hi mate, definitely doing it very wrong lol :stuck_out_tongue:

Couple of links for you:

Tools to simplify whitelisting (IOS):

Also I personally would suggest you maybe tone down the block lists for the moment otherwise be prepared to be unblocking a lot of your habitual sites

1 Like

Brilliant, thanks very much for the swift response. I'll look into those links and have a play about.
Added to the adlist after watching a couple of pi-hole video's on YouTube.

Many thanks again mate, much appreciated.

No worries!

Please do read those those first two links I posted though as they contain super important info for how to diagnose what to block or unblock, the tools I linked merely assist in white listing and other stats conveniently.

Maybe start off at say 1mill and over time slowly enable the more obscure lists (anything not from Firebog would be more obscure)

Further whitelisting:

In addition to that I recommend looking at the Pi-hole commonly white listed domains and well whitelisting those.

Also consider adding these, there is the auto updating one(no release in a while though) or you can do it manually (recommend):

I have a similar number of blocked domains to yours but I slowly added to it over time so that I wasn’t overwhelmed with blocked sites lol (false positives)

P.S Please do give the FAQs and doco a quick look (don’t have to commit everything to memory).

Probably will take 30mins but will give you a lot more context about everything