How can I use PureVpn with pi-Hole installed?

Hello everyone.

This is my first post and I'm a newbie Pi-hole user. Installed Raspian on to my little Pi Zero W about a month ago, and then proceeded to install Pi-hole. All went well, and have the Zero connected via ethernet cable directly to my router (Asus RT-AC86U). Hardware and software work exactly as advertised and am VERY happy with it.

Today I tried to use PureVPN through my Firefox browser addon, and it didn't work. I know the problem is my setup of Pi-hole and my router, but I'm not sure what to do. Currently have Pi-Hole as the primary DNS through my router (assigned 192.168.2.247 in this case), so all devices in my household have to go through that first. That is, router is set-up as DHCP for everyone in the house and they ALL go through Pi-Hole.

I've Googled the hell out of this and am really confused as what to do. Only use PureVPN occasionally, mostly to access Netflix USA from here in Europe. Don't want or need it on 24/7. So how do I do this? How do I get Pi-hole to work with PureVpn only sometimes? Can someone throw me a rope here? Thank you!

debug token: https://tricorder.pi-hole.net/kl0s3uhu1q

Gary Seven

When you use a VPN server, your DNS automatically moves to the DNS of that provider, to avoid DNS leaks (where your traffic is hidden in the VPN tunnel, but the DNS traffic is outside the tunnel).

Ok. So guess I have to turn off the Pi-hole, go into my router and reassign normal DNS access as things were before my Pi-hole install, just to use PureVPN? Is that what I'm hearing?

No. If a client joins a VPN, that client typically will not use Pi-hole for DNS while on the VPN. When the VPN connection is released the client goes back to using Pi-hole for DNS.

I'd also (and maybe primarily) inquire with the folks of PureVPN.