Hello From New Pi-Hole User

Hey, all! I'm an IT professional whose home network on Verizon Fios was working just fine for entirely too long, so naturally I've been trying to see what I can do to break it. My latest venture into self-destruction, recommended by a friend who's also in IT, has been to buy a BMax Mini PC and learn Pi Hole.

I'm currently using Linux Mint 21.3. This is not an officially supported distro, at least not yet, but I also have another Mini PC running Mint for another purpose. Since I know very little Linux, I decided I'd better stick with what I know, and thus far, it seems to be working okay.

After mucking around for a week or two with Pi Hole, I decided to pare everything back to the bare minimum before I started getting fancy. (More on that in a minute.) My current network is as follows:

192.168.10.1 -- Asus RT-AX55 router. DHCP is now turned off. Uses DHCP for WAN settings, except that I have configured it to use Quad9 for WAN DNS. DDNS client disabled, VPN server and client disabled. IPv6 also disabled after I spent a while screwing with it and realizing I was biting off more than I could chew at the time.

192.168.10.2 -- Pi Hole running on BMax. Used only for DNS for a while until I was comfortable adding DHCP last night. Static IP locally configured, although it was originally a DHCP reservation on the Asus.

192.168.10.3 -- Pi Hole's WiFi adapter. Usually turned off. Currently has a static IP because I was experimenting with it a bit to see whether I might be able to reconfigure the Ethernet connection remotely while using RDP over WiFi. (The KVM arrangements ultimately ended up coming out of the closet, unsurprisingly.)