DHCP Dynamic DNS update to pihole

Hi there,

there was a help request for pihole 4.x:

due to that topis ic closed, I want to "reopen" here - as I can see huge improvement in pihole 5, which should make life more easy;-)

Expected Behaviour:

I am running a OPNsense Firewall with DHCP there. This is must (until pihole can multi-arch-pxe :stuck_out_tongue:)
I activated dynamic dns updates to do registering DHCP-clients at DNS server.
Put in the DNS domain name and the dns server.
due to inside secured network, I do not have a password --> therefore api key is empty (so i do not put in any other setting to dhcp-server)

I am expecting, that my dhcp-leases should registered in pihole.

Actual Behaviour:

I am not really sure if this is working - need some assistance for checking/testing. Actually I am completely new to pihole, apprecciating any help :slight_smile:

Debug Token:

no debug now - will do later maybe

1 Like

This seems primarily like an issue for your OPNsense's DHCP server:
Only a DHCP server registers DHCP leases.
As long as Pi-hole is not your DHCP server, it won't register any DHCP leases.

If you want to make Pi-hole aware of the hostnames that a client tries to register with its DHCP server during DHCP negotiation, it would entirely depend on your DHCP server honoring those requests.
Certain DHCP servers may just discard this information (e.g. ISC) without additional configuration.

If your DHCP servers does honor client hostnames, it would again depend on how your DHCP server adds those entries into your local DNS. Most routers run their own DNS server, and hence a DHCP lease's hostname will get injected into that DNS server only.
I wouldn't know if OPNsense may or may not allow you to configure this.
This would be a question for OPNsense support.

Provided your DHCP server injects hostnames into its own DNS server, you could handle that through Pi-hole by
a) using your OPNsense DNS server as Pi-hole's sole upstream server