Combine NordVPN with Pi-hole

Expected Behaviour:

I'm still a rookie when it comes to this stuff so don't expect a lot of technical stuff.

I would like to combine Pi-Hole with NordVPN. What I mean by this is to install NordVPN on my router at home so all my devices use that VPN and manually adjust the VPN's DNS server to the Pi-hole. It would be great to use this setup outside my home as well. So, connect to my router which functions as a VPN server (I think?) and uses the Pi-hole for DNS. I want to maintain all other functionality from NordVPN (i.e., connect to other remote servers etc.)

The only downside I can think of is that this will generate quite some latency because when I work remotely, I first have to connect to my home network from where it connects to a NordVPN server.

Would love to hear ideas from you guys because, like I said, this stuff is pretty novel to me and I only know the basics. Cheers!

This isn't a Pi-hole question.

You should also consider other forums that focus on VPN service providers, preferably the ones from your NordVPN (you pay for their service, after all :wink: ) and maybe how to run a VPN server as well.

There is a difference between using a VPN service provider and running a VPN server in your own network at home (e.g. to allow secure, authorised access by remote clients).

When using a VPN service provider, that provider is running the VPN servers that you can connect to by using the appropriate client software.
Installing or enabling such client software on your router (provided your router supports that) would turn your router into a VPN client of your VPN server provider. Your router would then be configured to transparently encrypt your external, public traffic as initiated by your local clients.