Understanding Long term data list

(I guess we all have to start somewhere. I'm a noob here, and so this is my first question.)

Hi folks.

Today I decided to get PiHole running on my system and am going through the fun stage of tweaking things.

On the long term data then top lists:
Ok, some sites are getting hit a bit.

I kind of get that, but also kind of don't.

I am seeing a LOT of hits to the play.google.com site.
Which is fair enough in some ways, but a bit worrying in another.

Why?

AFAIK, I don't have any mobile phones/tablets/etc that would want to talk to play.google.com connected.

Granted I did have one connected a while back, but they are now all off-line.

I'm not wanting to create panic but is there a way to see who is asking for connections to the sites in the list?

(Yes, it probably is documented. I just haven't found it yet.)

Thanks in advance.

Why are you getting hits to this domain, or why is this worrying? Pi-hole is accurately reporting the DNS queries made by clients.

In the same long term data tab, but under Query Log (not Top Lists), you can display the full query log for the same time period. This shows the client that made the request for each domain. You can search for the domain of interest (play.google.com in this case) and this will filter to that domain and you can see the client(s) that requested it.

You said this but also

As the term long-term tries to tell you, this is a page that has history for a very long time back. Up to a year by default. So your device might have been reported a long time ago when you already had Pi-hole (not clear to me if you have just started using Pi-hole in terms of looking at it or if you installed it freshly).

Granted. But considering I have just installed PiHole, and there are 500+ attempts to access play.google.com it is ..... Interesting.

One thing I now realise won't be helping is how PiHole is ... connected.