Pi-hole works if I set DNS in network preferences, but not if set on router with Bridge mode

Summary details:
ISP Router IP: 192.168.1.1
Linksys Router in Bridge mode: 192.168.1.2
Linux Pi-hole PC Static IP: 192.168.1.10

Hi,

I'm not a network expert so I could use a little help.
I have a small linux PC running docker with a pi-hole. This PC has static IP 192.168.1.10 and is connected via Wi-Fi on Linksys router (192.168.1.2) which is in Bridge mode with my ISP router (192.168.1.1).

All other computers are connected to the same Linksys router.

On any computer I can access pi-hole admin via 192.168.1.10/admin

Linksys router in Bridge mode has Connectivity settings:

IPv4: 192.168.1.2
Subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
Gateway: 192.168.1.1
DNS 1: 192.168.1.10
DNS 2: 1.1.1.1

On any computer, ads don't get blocked... If I set the pi-hole DNS in any of theirs network preferences, ads get blocked and it's working without problem.

So how come the ads don't get blocked if I set it on a router? I guess it's a small fix but feeling stuck in this after 2-3 days of fiddling around, and don't know what to do.

You propagate two DNS servers to your clients, thus your clients may bypass Pi-hole by sending DNS queries to 1.1.1.1 instead.

Get rid of that second DNS in your Linksys, or replace it with Pi-hole's IP again if your router insists on having it.

Thank you for reply, I tried with or without 1.1.1.1, or with same pihole DNS ip in both 1 and 2. Didn't work in any way

Is there anything I could set in the pihole admin settings? DNS, DHCP, ...?

It may take a while before domains that were already resolved are expired from your client's and browser's caches.

You could try to verify if Pi-hole is active by executing the following commands on one of your clients:

nslookup pi.hole
nslookup flurry.com 192.168.1.10

(assuming your Pi-hole still resides at .10 )

This is what I get if I run these commands

$ nslookup pi.hole
Server: 10.37.1.2
Address: 10.37.1.2#53