Pi-Hole Win10 DNS

Newbie here so be kind.
I have only just enough knowledge to be dangerous to myself and my network.
I have just started with Pi-hole (5) running on a Raspberry 4.
I added Ubound and it "seemed to work"
Previously I was using NextDNS but decided I want to be fully in charge. My network is about 10 or so devices, 2 of which run Win10.
With NextDNS it was necessary to initially add the DNS servers manually in the Network Card in each Win10 machine for IPV6I
I believe I shouldn't need to to that now but I do for the IPV6 and I don't quite understand why.
If I set the DNS server to auto, Ipconfig reveals I do get the IPV6 address of my Pi-hole but I also get the Link Local Address (fe80::...... )listed as the DNS as well.
I obviously still still getting the IPV6 DNS but not from the Pi-hole, so i don't get blocking..
I have my gateway (Modem) DNS set to the Pi-hole IP but I am only able to set the IPV4 DNS in it.
I assume Windows has a "fallback" DNS for IPV6.
I do have root access to my modem, so I guess I could do something there.
Has anyone struck this and is there some work around to get the either the link local address removed from the DNS list or the DNS of the link local address (in windows?) set to the Pi-hole?

After a bit more thought, this is not the problem.

Because Pi-hole is a "DNS" (well its a cache) it is assigned as the DNS. But Ubound is also the upstream DNS and is also assigned as a backup DNS but for IPV6 only not the IPV4.
For some reason Windows 10 seems to be using the Ubound as the primary IPV6 DNS and Pi-hole as the secondary.

Ok I fixed this by fiddling.
Unfortunately I can't say what was actually wrong!
Basically I started by stopping and restarting pi-hole. No change
Next I stopped & restarted Ubound. This was interesting because I had trouble getting it to restart. But restart it did. Need to investigate that.
No change.