Pi-hole Operations Spotlight: Jacob Salmela

Originally published at: https://pi-hole.net/2019/01/30/pi-hole-operations-spotlight-jacob-salmela/

Jacob Salmela is the original creator of Pi-hole and continues to work on it to this day. Below is a summary of things.

• Name: Jacob Salmela
  • Current full time job: Systems Engineer
  • Current computer: Space gray 2017 MacBook Pro, 16GB RAM
  • Hours spent on Pi-hole per week: 5-30
  • Favorite Linux command or utility: netcat
  • Favorite video game: Metal Gear Solid

Tell us about your background and experience:

I worked in retail for over a decade. Then I went to school for a Bachelor’s degree in Networking. I worked in the public sector for many years and now I work for a bank. I’ve focused on macOS and Linux throughout my career. I have a lot of Apple certifications–no Linux ones, but I’ve certainly learned a lot over the years.

I started Pi-hole as a project for the Raspberry Pi because I was disappointed with the AdTrap and thought I could build something better (I discuss this on this podcast). Little did I know, it would soon be a full-blown project with a fleet of devoted developers who consistently work on it. As Pi-hole began to gain popularity and I was managing the entire project by myself, I relied on a lot of things to keep my workload as light as possible. This meant anything from automation to services that handled infrastructure for me. I used Digital Ocean for everything, automated as much as I could with Ansible and other tools, and basically didn’t use something unless it was easy for one person to operate.

We still operate on a similar premise, but the scale is much larger and we now have to make sure apps and services are up and running for both our developers and end users of our product.

How is your workspace setup?