Invalid ad/domain entry?

So playing with the new feature of removing stuff of your top lists.. I have added some entries that get queried for a lot..

I run a domotz pro on my network, and the ttl on this
shard_02-monitoring-us-east-1-cell-1.domotz.com

Is quite low, so lots of queries get generated for it.. So its always near the top of the to domains list. So when I go and try and add it to the don't show list in settings I get this error

Top Domains/Ads entry shard_02-monitoring-us-east-1-cell-1.domotz.com is invalid!
The settings have been reset to their previous values

Clearly this valid.. I can query for it, etc. Is there some sort of character limit? I am new to pihole, is there a place to submit bug reports?

Running pihole v2.10 and v2.0 web

The underscore is not recognized as a valid character in DNS, so I believe that's the reason for your error. Perhaps @Mcat12 @brantje or @DL6ER can confirm.

That is a valid reasoning, other than it resolves. Is it good practice - no. And I am with you it for sure something of contention.. In a domain its is is valid.

The problem is it does resolve..

user@ubuntu:~$ dig shard_02-monitoring-us-east-1-cell-1.domotz.com

; <<>> DiG 9.9.5-3ubuntu0.10-Ubuntu <<>> shard_02-monitoring-us-east-1-cell-1.domotz.com
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 474
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;shard_02-monitoring-us-east-1-cell-1.domotz.com. IN A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
shard_02-monitoring-us-east-1-cell-1.domotz.com. 401 IN A 52.202.223.108

;; Query time: 12 msec
;; SERVER: 127.0.0.1#53(127.0.0.1)
;; WHEN: Fri Dec 23 14:26:07 CST 2016
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 81

I can reach out to them to remove the _, but since these sorts of fqdn do resolve and work on the public internet - pihole shouldn't reject putting them in to the system not to show them, etc.

https://www.ietf.org/rfc/rfc2181.txt