Best way to "programatically" handle blocking for wildcard TLDs?

Hi all,

I'm brand new to the Pi-hole scene, so apologies if this is a dumb set of questions!

I'm looking to block requests to a good amount of the TLDs out there (see http://data.iana.org/TLD/tlds-alpha-by-domain.txt for the authoritative list). I wrote a script to parse out the top 100-200 that I'd still like to query, and so I'm left with about ~1300 TLDs to block all wildcard/subdomain requests for.

A few questions here:

1. Can this be done with a block list? It seemed that block lists (e.g., the default ones) call out the exact domain in question to block (and do not allow for a wild card), but my understanding about blocklists vs. blacklists may be very incorrect here.
  2. If this needs to be done with a script that interacts with Pi-hole - what is the best way to do that? Should I iterate over the file one line at a time, and just call pihole -wild TLD1, pihole -wild TLD2, pihole -wild TLD3, etc, which may take a while? Or does Pi-hole's ability to support multiple domains at once allow a user to specify a ridiculously large number of them? (e.g., pihole -wild TLD1 TLD2 TLD3 ... TLD1299 TLD1300)
  3. Alternatively, assuming that I need to use a script, is putting an arbitrary file in /etc/dnsmasq.d (per https://discourse.pi-hole.net/t/how-do-i-add-wildcard-sites-to-the-blacklist/337) with the TLDs formatted in the right format a better solution, or is that frowned upon?

My goal is to be able to re-apply my entire "bad" TLD list on a weekly basis, but wanted to know what the recommended path is for doing so from a developer perspective.

Thanks,
Andras

Yes, just add the TLDs to the wildcard blacklist and you're set up with blocking whatever is requested under these TLDs.

You may also be interested in:

https://pi-hole.net/2018/04/24/blocking-via-regex-now-available-in-ftldns/